Tell me it’s real (Number 3)

How is everybody doing? I am almost finished my fall term in University! I can’t wait to get it over with. It has been crazy hectic in school and the requirements were heavier than I thought. I’m 75% in and there’s just a few more tweaks and refinements to make sure that our group presentation as well as papers that must be written will be polished! My student life aside, I am so excited to log in here and share my thoughts to you, lovely readers. This one can hurt but I have came to realize that it is necessary to thrive as an individual.

3. The road to your own happiness can be lonely

The path takes so much internalization and understanding of your own values: what matters the most and the things that distract you from what is yours. If you see Steve Jobs, he had to assert himself even though it meant letting his loved ones go. The conviction with what he felt was right and what was stopping him from getting where he is was very strong that it became unhealthy until he came to a point to take care of what he left behind. Not everyone will understand why you do what you do and as long as you know that you are doing the right thing, then what is stopping you?

It is easier said than done, I know. There are other factors to consider like family obligations and financial situation. When it comes to considering your loved ones:

“Always do what you want, and say what you feel,

because those who mind don’t matter,

and those who matter don’t mind.” – Dr. Seuss 

Sadly to say, there is nobody best to trust than yourself. You should know yourself better than anyone else. What I have always done before was to gather everyone’s opinion and base my decision from what they said. At the end of the day, it was not really me who technically choose my destiny because after being clouded by all their opinions, I created this image in my mind that was not even there in the very first place. The image can be bad, which will later cause my regrets for not pushing forward because it actually led to good results for some people; the image can be good, which later set my expectations too high to reach and therefore, led to disappointment. It’s all an illusion.

I am not saying that you will close your doors from the public rather I am emphasizing how important it is to listen to your own voice before anyone else’s. You must have a solid foundation of your values to not be swayed by temporary satisfaction or instant gratification like money, pleasure, leisure, or fame. You can adapt but don’t adopt because you’ll be lost. However, if the industry requires you to be physically fit (for example) then that will be a good habit to adopt since it will not only affect your overall performance in the job but also feel good as an individual. Some themes in social media can be seen as manipulating but a few, I consider, can be really important.

Anyway, I hope that we will all be brave enough to listen to our hearts while knowing our ground, values, and limitations to not expect too much and to live with hope for the possibilities of the future. There are people who genuinely care for you, let them think of you and give you support. Pushing people away is never an option. Let them know of your dreams and why you have to do what you’re doing. But really, one of the best advice I’ve heard was from my professor: be patient because there is no need to rush.

Take your time, friends! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

