I don’t know about you but I’m feeling 22.

As I age.. again, I am unpredictably happy. Just a quick check-in, what am I feeling? Stronger.

It’s that time of the year again where I have to grow older. I find it strange that this time, I do not feel any pressure rather some kind of excitement to see the world unfold in my eyes, I am more realistic and confident in achieving for the things that I have always wanted: emphasis on music and the simple lifestyle. For the past two years, I have been overly involved in so many things, trying to where I best fit. Trust me, it was a hard decision to decide which ones to keep and which ones to discard.. but it was necessary, for my heart and mind to stay healthy.

Life must be continuous. Never look back for any comparison. Only remember the good memories to encourage you to keep hoping for the best. 

You are the captain of your own ship and the author of your book. I knew this all along but it was only this year (through the help of my dear parents and loved ones) that I actually digested this fact and was able to fully understand the concept behind it. In this life, we have been hearing voices that tell us what is the best decision and what will bring us happiness but how true are these? We all have encountered different experiences; therefore, leading to different belief systems and approach to life.

It’s great to hear stories from other people but at the end of the day, it is our own decision that will define us. If we let other people solve our own problems, then what is the purpose of living this life.

I am who I am and knowing that life is too short to worry about what people say, I will pursue my dreams. Dreams does not equate to anything big rather these are just simple pleasures in life that I have forgotten after being swept in by the societal expectation to conform. 

I am not quitting school.
I am not quitting work.
I am not going to isolate myself from the world.
I am not going to go against traditions.
I am not going to hate on people.
I am not going to rebel.

I will study harder.
I will work harder.
I will socialize and go beyond my comfort zones.
I will appreciate where I came from.
I will learn to understand better.
I will be more confident while keeping both my feet on the ground.

More importantly, I will learn to listen to my inner voice while accepting the fact that nobody is perfect and hard work does not always guarantee an award. What I mean is that, we cannot expect to receive anything in return after giving our all because if we do, then the essence of passion is removed from our hearts and love now becomes an equation and not the solution to our lives.

3 thoughts on “I don’t know about you but I’m feeling 22.

Leave a Reply

